Blood Lust

15 05 2012

Gaming. When did it become a part of family pastime? Created for kids, it began as an innocent activity with controllers large enough for children’s hands. Played on weekend afternoons, just an hour here or there, a place to keep kids occupied, gaming became a friendly member of the family. Somehow slowly, a very subtle transition occurred, the controllers got larger to suit adult hands, violent games emerged with sanguineous, blood splattering, murderous, games. No longer relegated to the few hours on the weekend, the addiction to violence emerged with the killing, gunning down, spilling blood, breaking bones, cracking skulls, to get the score up and get on the leader board. Child and adult alike connected on this sick thing called gaming.

Since gaming increased into a lucrative billion dollar business, the trend of gaming isn’t about to resign anytime soon. But like all other pastimes, it will come to an end, beginning with parents. Parents, put your foot down say ‘no’ to your kids gaming, and for adults who game, grow up. There is a real world out there.

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 05 2012
BornAgainGamer

Hmmmm I disagree. And since most games as you describe them are for adults, I don’t see the parental control having much of an effect anyway. When we are done with generalizing, there are tons of non-violent, family friendly, happy go lucky games out there. See Little Big Planet for example. Remember, ignorance isn’t a shield, it’s a crutch.

16 05 2012
SiSi Theo

Thank you for your comment. I appreciate your feedback. Yes, the violent games I’ve described are for adults, that is my point. It began as something for children, Super Mario with the small controllers and evolved to something more where adults participate, and the creation of violent games. I’m looking at the evolution of gaming, not that there aren’t family oriented games, because we know they exist. Hope this helps.

Your comment, “Ignorance isn’t a shield, it’s a crutch.” I totally agree, it is in truth we are set free, and that is what I try to do the best I know how, and sometimes I don’t communicate what I want to say as clear as I want to, my apologies if I made the post to sound as if there were no longer family oriented games.
Cheers,
Sisi Theo

Leave a Reply

